Posted on May 21, 2019

Our Meeting on May 21st was the STRIVE Luncheon and Scholarship Awards Program.  Dick Glover (STRIVE Program Coordinator) hosted the program for the STRIVE students and their parents.  Dick described the STRIVE Program and highlighted the litany of topics and presenters of the program that met bi-weekly throughout the year.  Notable this year was the commitment that the STRIVE students made to be at all the meetings and their attentiveness and curtesy to presenters.  The students also showed great interest in improving their academic performance and planning for their future schooling and professional goals. Glover also outlined our scholarship program and also that is based purely on academic improvement and regular attendance at STRIVE meetings.  He also noted that Normandale College, Dunwoody and Hennepin Tech Schools match our scholarships.
There were six scholarships awarded this year ranging from $1,000 to $2,500.  The four $1000 scholarships went to Gabrelle Letendre, Will Carlson, Max Koyonen and Ashley Shields.  Marieolos Anderson received the $1,500 scholarship.  Our most improved student Jonathon Kramer received our $2,500.  Jonathan said that this scholarship is a life-changer for him because he was going to take a bye-year to earn enough money for tuition at Dunwoody or Henn. Tech.  Now he will be able to enroll this fall with $5,000 with the match.  Congratulations to all of our STRIVE students this year for being such a great group and the progress each made at MHS.
New Member Tyronne Carter (Dr. Science) was welcomed into our club also on May 21st and received his membership packet.  There will be two additional members joining our club on June 4th and they are Bob Carlson and Linda Gustafson.  We all look forward to getting to know them in the coming months and hear each of their bios.                                                                                      
District 5950 honored our club with an award for Child Literacy for our grant and work on behalf of Reach Out and Read Program.  Don Draayer (the tenacious spirit behind our grant) was presented with the award by President Nick Wegleitner and Pres; Elect Michelle Seets.